Jones named First Team All-1A

As determined by nominations and votes of coaches statewide, CHSAA, MaxPreps and Colorado Preps recently announced the All-1A Football Team for the completed 2013 season, and Ignacio was represented on the First Team by junior quarterback/defensive back Adison Jones.

The Southern Peaks Conference was also represented by juniors Jareb Aziz and K.C. Jarvies and seniors Jason Buhr and Clay McCarroll of state runner-up Centauri, and senior Luis Mariscal of Center.

Beaten early on in the campaign by CHS – their only loss in finishing 12-1 overall – state champion Paonia was represented by seniors Will Austin and Tony Darling, juniors Josh Kimball and Dylan Geisler, and sophomore Taylor Walters.

The Eagles’ 32-24 defeat of Centauri (11-2) gained the school its first title since 1959.  The last time Paonia reached the grand finale came with a 49-7 loss to Yuma in ’62.

Kansas State University commit Dalton Risner of Wiggins was named the 1A player of the year.  A coach of the year was not specifically mentioned, though Brent McRae would be the likely candidate for turning around a PHS program which had gone just 4-5 in 2012.

THE REST OF THE BEST: Jacob Baca, senior, Westminster Cornerstone Christian; Jordan Bobian, senior, Walsenburg John Mall; Trevor Close, junior, Andy McFarland, senior, and Keegan Wentz, senior, Buena Vista; Alec Coscarella, senior, and Tony Gentile, senior, Salida; Jacob Crist, junior, and JaVonte’ Stewart, senior, Ellicott; Jonas Cure, junior, Wray; Jaden Koenig, senior, Yuma.

Christian Krautschun, senior, and T.J. Stockton, senior, Colorado Springs Christian; Ryan Krogmeier, senior, Holyoke; Gavin Liggett, senior, and Blake Paintin, senior, Limon; Corey Reynolds, junior, Cedaredge; Corey Ritchey, senior, Wiggins; Michael Stevensen, freshman, and Cole Watson, senior, Loveland Resurrection Christian; Joseph Storrer, senior, Ordway Crowley County; Eloy Sandoval, junior, Burlington.

To top