Two cagers crack All-2A team

Ignacio's Adison Jones (33)
Ignacio's Wyatt Hayes (2)
Ignacio's Adison Jones (33) shifts into “drive” against Sedgwick County's Cole McKinley (23) during Day 1 action at the Class 2A State Championships in Pueblo.
Ignacio's Wyatt Hayes (2) fires a three-pointer over Sanford's Dalton Rodriguez (15) during Day 2 action at the Class 2A State Championships in Pueblo.
Joel Priest | Special to the Drum
Joel Priest | Special to the Drum

After helping Ignacio bring home the Class 2A State Championships’ third-place trophy last month in Pueblo, Adison Jones and Wyatt Hayes were recently named to the Colorado High School Activities Association’s All-Classification Team, announced and presented by, and MaxPreps.

The three-tiered roster was chosen following a process including nominations from players’ leagues and coaches, and then a vote of coaches.

Jones, a junior forward/center, was a Second Team selection along with Swink senior Brandon Book, Parker Lutheran senior Reilly Carew, Center junior Christian Ortiz and Simla senior Aaron Thieman.  All but Jones were primarily backcourt players.

Hayes, a sophomore, received a Third Team nod along with Loveland Resurrection Christian senior Brock Buxman, Akron junior Jared Clarkson, Merino junior Connor Fiscus and Fort Collins Liberty Common senior Arjun Gill.  All five specialized in backcourt play, with Hayes’ 4.1 steals-per-game figure topping the classification.

The Player-of-the-Year choice – Akron senior Brady Baer – was virtually obvious, even long before the State Championships, in which he eclipsed the statewide, all-classification career scoring record held by Buena Vista’s Brian Wood since 2001.

Both Bobcats also earned Second Team All-San Juan Basin League, while senior guard Clayton Jefferson and senior forward Kelton Richmond were First Team and Honorable Mention, respectively.

Looking at the smaller-school side of the 2A/1A SJBL, Norwood senior guard Morgan Rummel was named First Team All-1A along with Boulder Shining Mountain Waldorf senior Alex Beal, Seibert Hi-Plains senior Justin Miltenberger, Cheyenne Wells senior Matt Sanders and POY Avery Marzolf, a senior for the State Champion H-P Patriots.

After losing 48-41 to Holly, NHS finished a rocky 14-11 season under CHSCA Hall-of-Famer Greg King in sixth place at the 1A State Championships held in Loveland.  As the other SJBL crew to see the season’s final weekend, IHS ended with a 25-1 record under Chris Valdez.


Like it? Share it!