Michelle Simmons and Cloe Siebel hug
Gabriella Garcia, Roshae Weaver and Sky Cotton pictured after receiving their volleyball team picture.
Michelle Simmons and Cloe Siebel hug after Williams won the Girls Track MVP award at the Ignacio High School Sports Banquet on Monday, May 20.
Photo Credit: Joel Priest | Special to the Drum
Photo Credit: Joel Priest | Special to the Drum
Thumbnail image of
Thumbnail image of Michelle Simmons and Cloe Siebel hug

Banquet ends IHS athletic year

Bags of peanuts and Cracker Jacks lined each row of tables in the Ignacio High School Gymnasium the night of Monday, May 20, an apt allusion to the 2013 Athletic Banquet’s “In Honor of Fans” theme.

Booster Club President Janet Reinhardt welcomed a crowd of more than 200 players, parents, coaches and supporters, and senior David Storey delivered the opening prayer shortly after 6 p.m.

Outgoing IHS cheer coach Cathy Seibel led off the event by presenting her fall- and winter-season squads, naming Mary Kate Adams and Greg Bison the respective MVPs of each, and ShaRay Rock and Shannon Mestas the respective recipients of her Coach’s Award.

Wrestling wrangler Bob Overturf then presented lone State Championships qualifier Josh Gallegos his MVP award and Blaine Mickey the Coach’s Award.

Boys’ basketball boss Chris Valdez conferred co-MVP status upon point guard Clayton Jefferson and small forward/wing Kelton Richmond.

Lupe Huerta named catcher/pitcher/shortstop Iaasic Pena the baseball team’s MVP and presented Antonio Silva de Torres with the Coach’s Award before having to reintroduce himself to present the football team and award versatile Austin Haire the Coach’s Award and QB/DB Adison Jones the MVP.

Seven-time [in her career] State placer Michelle Simmons was named girls’ track MVP by coach Kathy Herrera, and ’13 qualifier Sky Cotton received the Coach’s Award. Boys’ track MVP honors went to Klayson Smith from coach Tony Kimball, and the Coach’s Award choice was Wyatt Hayes.

Volleyball skipper Thad Cano named Simmons as MVP, and the Coach’s Award went to Chrystianne Valdez — with Cano especially noting her strong academic standing.

Girls’ soccer head coach Oscar Cosio announced defender Angel Paul as his team’s MVP, and presented midfielder/forward Aly Troup with the Coach’s Award.

Justa Whitt then named Simmons, her do-everything point guard, the girls’ basketball MVP, and gave the Coach’s Award to reserve guard Jordan Cuthair.

Senior Mariah Vigil was awarded the Butch Melton Scholarship. Academic Is went to sophomores Tyler Riepel and David Cooper; juniors Richmond, Mestas, Jayce Stricherz, Justin Carver, Malli Benavidez, Christian Knoll and Rebecca Ward; and seniors Adams, Kayla Knipp and Breana Talamante-Benavidez.

Adams (fall cheer, winter cheer, soccer), Simmons (volleyball, basketball, track-and-field), and Troup (fall cheer, winter cheer, soccer) received special recognition among the long list of three-sport Cats for having participated in three sports for all their four years at IHS.

To top