Soccer has good footing for ’17

Ignacio's Tori Archuleta (7) maneuvers through midfield during road action at Bayfield during the 2016 season. She was named First Team All-3A/2A Southwestern League for her work.
Ignacio Girls' Soccer head coach Oscar Cosio decides on a scheme prior to the Lady Bobcats' road match at Alamosa during the 2016 season. Cosio was named the 3A/2A Southwestern League's Coach-of-the-Year.
Ignacio's Ryley Webb (6) clears a ball out of the Lady Bobcats' defensive third at IHS Field during the 2016 season. She was named Honorable Mention All-3A/2A Southwestern League for her efforts.
Joel Priest | Special to the Drum
Joel Priest | Special to the Drum
Joel Priest | Special to the Drum

IHS’ Cosio named SWL’s COY

It’s been news long in coming, but upon arrival … good news nonetheless for Ignacio Soccer.

His team having impressed in several outings – particularly at Alamosa, and at home against Ridgway – with the development of numerous younger returning players, as well as a few suiting up for the very first time, head coach Oscar Cosio was voted the 3A/2A Southwestern League’s Coach-of-the-Year.

Aided by former Lady Bobcat Savannah (then Pearson) Davis and newcomer Alisha Gullion during his fourth season at the helm, the honor – achieved in an 0-11 overall/SWL run – was Cosio’s first.

Now-senior midfielder Tori Archuleta – who assisted on IHS’ goal in 2016 – was named First Team All-League, her second honor after an Honorable Mention All-SWL nod ending her freshman year in ’14. Classmate Ryley Webb, meanwhile, earned her first postseason recognition; the defender was an Honorable Mention selection.

Pagosa Springs paced the loop with five (Brooke Bowdridge, Olivia Reinhardt, Hannah Marnocha, Hayley Mitchell, Alyssa Lewis) First Team honorees, and Bayfield followed with four (Maddy Duran, Bryannah Isiordia, Savannah Kaufmann, Taylor Morris).

Telluride and Ridgway each had three players chosen, with Maria Carrasco, Isabelle DeLuca and Taylor Gumble representing the Lady Miners and Alexis Lindley, Emma Haaland and Bailey Williams the Lady Demons. Alamosa’s Darby Bolt and Elise Tolley also received First Team, as did Center’s Faith Stults.

Player-of-the-Year distinction went to Duran, set to walk on at NCAA Division II Fort Lewis College in Durango this fall, while Goalkeeper-of-the-Year went to PSHS’ surprising now-sophomore Diana Scott.

Additional Honorable Mention recipients were her Lady Pirate teammates Addie Thompson and Morgan Thompson, BHS’ Sydney Milner and Sophie Turner, THS’ Madie Alexander and Emma Spaulding, AHS’ Katelyn Gallegos and CHS’ Mariela Hernandez.

Like it? Share it!